Once the home of George and Phoebe Frank, this grand stone mansion was the original Nebraska Hospital for the Tuberculous. For eight months in 1912, patients lived on the third floor. After completion of the Pavilion, the Stone House became apartments for the hospital’s superintendent, administrators, nurses, and staff.
The White Plague Comes to Kearney: A History of the Nebraska State Hospital for Tuberculosis is a permanent exhibit located on the second floor of the G.W. Frank Museum of History and Culture. The exhibit houses genuine hospital and patient artifacts, as well as an educational experience about the history of tuberculosis in Nebraska.